NI Music Prize – Full line up announced

The NI Music Prize takes place at the Ulster Hall on Thursday November 7th.

The categories and shortlists are available on the NI Music Prize website where you can also vote for Best Live and Best Single via The Thin Air and you can also vote for The Oh Yeah Contender in Association with BBC Music Introducing Across The Line via BBC ATL

The line up for the evening includes:

Guest performance from and presentation of the Oh Yeah Legend Award to Snow Patrol.

Plus performances from shortlisted acts Saint Sister, Jordan Adetunji, Strange New Places and Ryan Vail & Elma Orkestra featuring Moya Brennan and Stephen James Smith.

This event is now SOLD OUT.


Oh Yeah Centre is buzzing for Culture Night / Day 2019!

We have a lot going on this weekend for Culture Night (and Day) 2019!

First, come down with your friends on the Friday for an afternoon, evening and night full music.

We’ll start at the cafe for intimate shows with Jonny Hammond, Conor Marcus and the Ulster Youth Orchestra between 4pm and 8pm.

For the evening, we’re taking things to the next level, by taking you to the main stage. Mob Wife, Kyoto Love Hotel and Cherym will spice things up between 8pm and 10pm, and get the party started for the next part of our Culture Night: Air Punch. Starting at 11pm, the after-party is meant to make you scream…in a good way, with power ballads from Whitney Houston to Celine Dion, Alice Cooper, Michael Bolton and even more!

If you are a bit of a risk-taker, join us upstairs on the rooftop for a DJ party with Rory Gilmore, Alex Davenport, Jack Watson, Robbie McCammon and Jack Kelly! Will the weather stop you from such a banger?


Then, on the Saturday, come down with your kids this time, for a ‘Culture Lunch’ with a special edition of our Acoustic Picnic. From 11am to 4pm, there will be live acoustic music with Over The Hill collective, and arts and crafts with Young At Art and their “Shake Rattle and Craft” workshop.

What is to be remembered is that EVERY EVENT is free entry, from 4pm on the Friday to 4pm on the Saturday!

NI Music Prize 2019 – Shortlists announced

Monday 9th September

NI Music Prize shortlist announced.

The NI Music Prize shortlist for 2019 has been announced. The event, which will take place on November 7th at the Ulster Hall is now in its 7th year and includes four award categories as well as the Oh Yeah Legend Award presentation to and performance from Snow Patrol.

Nominators chosen from sectors including music journalism, radio, podcasts, blogs, festival and event programmers, music retail, promoters, live music venues, as well as key influencers from elsewhere in the arts, were invited to contribute and 80 have now returned their votes for Best Live, Best Single, Best Album and The Oh Yeah Contender Award.

The shortlist will now go to public vote for Best Single and Best Live via The Thin Air.

Oh Yeah is also delighted to announce that the Oh Yeah Contender Award will be in association with BBC Music Introducing Across The Line and the shortlist will also go to public vote via BBC platforms.

The album winner will be decided by a panel on Nov 7th. All winners will be announced on the night.

Last year Oh Yeah introduced a cash prize for winners and is pleased to be able to offer this again for 2019.


The winner of The Oh Yeah Contender Award will receive a cash prize of £1,000 from the Oh Yeah Centre and the BBC is offering an opportunity to perform BBC Introducing Live, including travel and accommodation.

Winners of Best Live and Best Single will be awarded a cash prize of £1,000 and the best album will receive £3,000.

More info to come including details on the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award, but for now here are the shortlists in alphabetical order:


Album of the Year 2019

 Arvo Party – II

Beauty Sleep – Be Kind

Blue Whale – Process

Conor Mason – On The Surface

Cormac Neeson – White Feather

Pat Dam Smyth – The Last King

Runabay – Between The Lines

Ryan Vail and Elma Orkestra – Borders

Saint Sister – Shape of Silence

Sam Wickens – All I’ve Seen

Soak – Grim Town

Two Door Cinema Club – False Alarm


 Best Single

You can now VOTE for Best Single via The Thin Air

Voting opens 5pm Monday 10th September and closes midnight 6th November

Amy Montgomery – Tree Song

Brand New Friend – I Was An Astronaut

Bui – Something Else To Talk About

Documenta – The Blue Sleep

Hand Models – Banana

Jealous Of The Birds – Blue Eyes

Joshua Burnside – Desert Wine

Junk Drawer – Year Of The Sofa

Kitt Philippa – Grace

Kitt Philippa – You

New Pagans – It’s Darker

ROE – Down Days


 The Oh Yeah Contender Award in association with BBC Music Introducing Across The Line.

Voting opens 5pm Monday 10th September and closes midnight 6th November

 *Due to a tie at nominations stage we have a shortlist of 6 for the Contender Award. *


Amy Montgomery


Joel Harkin

Jordan Adetunji

Problem Patterns

Strange New Places


Best Live Act

You can now VOTE for Best Live Act via The Thin Air

Voting opens 5pm Monday 10th September and closes midnight 6th November

Jordan Adetunji

Joshua Burnside

New Pagans

Ryan Vail & Elma Orkestra

Sister Ghost